Class Archive‎ > ‎Archive-2017-18‎ > ‎

Class #12 - March 18, 2018

posted Apr 3, 2018, 6:48 PM by Parshu Ananth   [ updated Sep 23, 2018, 9:11 AM by Siva Kumar Puram ]
Karma and Yoga - Shankarananda Das

Karma:  Good activity (activity sanctioned in the Bhagavad Gita or scriptures)
Vikarma: Bad activity  
Akarma: Neither good nor bad - no personal interest and nothing to lose - doing because it needs to be done

In the scriptures, Akarma is also called Yoga.

    |                        |                                   |                             |
Karma            Jnana                        Dhyan                        Bhakti

Karma Yoga(Action): Person doing his / her duty with the intention of Yoga (union with God)

Jnana Yoga (Knowledge): Study with the purpose of understanding God

Dhyan Yoga (Meditation): Also called, Ashtanga Yoga

Bhakti Yoga (Devotional Service)

Dhyan Yoga requires living outside the city.

Jnana Yoga: requires intense study

Karma Yoga: somewhat good.  However, it cannot give you complete understanding of God.

Bhakti Yoga: Only way one can have complete understanding of God.

B.G. End of 6th chapter: topmost is one who is practicing Bhakti

All of you can practice Bhakti daily:

1. Sravanam: Hearing anything related to God
2. Kirtanam: Chanting / Repeating / Singing what you heard about God.  For example, you may chant:
    a. Hare Krishna, Hare Krishna, Krishna Krishna Hare Hare
        Hare Rama, Hare Rama, Rama Rama Hare, or
    b. Om Namo Bhagavate Vasudevaya
3. Smaranam: Remembering God
4. Pada Sevanam: Serving the feet of the Lord
    e.g. sweeping the floor of the temple or a visit to Vrindavan
5. Archanam: Worshipping the deity form of the Lord
6. Vandanam: Prayer
7. Dasyam: (Das = servant of God) The relationship between God and his devotees is of love, not of exploitation.
8. Sakhyam: Becoming a friend of God
9. Atma Nivedanam: Offering yourself to God